To suit the Action to the Word, the Word to the Action


Show your support on the 9th of March

The public can view the City of Edinburgh Council Regulatory Committee’s meeting, where the Public Entertainment Licence changes will be discussed, and so show the support that the campaign against these changes is raising.

To attend, head for the Dean of Guild Court Room, City Chambers, High Street, Edinburgh on Friday 9th March and meet there at 8.50am, for the 9am meeting start.

The general public cannot speak at this meeting, but there will be a “deputation at the meeting speaking on behalf of the campaign comprising Neil Cooper (journalist and writer for numerous publications) and Morvern Cunningham (organiser of LeithLate and active member of Edinburgh’s grassroots arts community).”

This quote is taken from the Council Regulatory Meeting – OPEN TO THE PUBLIC Facebook event, where you can find further information and leave comments on points you would like the deputation to cover.

A Scotsman article on the current plans of the council, already amended somewhat from earlier ones due to the strength of the campaign against these licence changes, can be found here:

http://www.scotsman.com/lifestyle/heritage/culture/small-edinburgh-arts-events-to-be-exempted-from-licence-crackdown-1-2158223

There appears to be some good news, but there are still questions (see Morvern Cunningham’s remarks in the above article), and the actual legislation itself – at Scottish Government level – is still an issue, affecting all councils and the whole of Scotland.

Further information

See ‘Keeping Track’ post for help in understanding and keeping abreast with this PEL issue.

Comments on: "Crunch time for Edinburgh! Public Entertainment Licence meeting, 9th March" (6)

  1. Hi Danielle,

    here are my thoughts/feelings on the matter 🙂

    I came to the UK and Edinburgh in particular, because I felt, that here creativity is valued highly and that here bureaucracy isn’t as big an issue when it comes to spontaneity as I feel it is in Germany. I LOVE this city and in it have found my first home. I’m surrounded by creative people like myself: actors, filmmakers, writers, poets, musicians and so many more. As someone from a drastically different background, I’d have never thought, it would be possible for me personally, to get involved so deeply in anything positive really. It was here in Edinburgh, that I could finally be free enough to throw all my learned worries over board and commit to being an artist. It’s no use, depriving ourselves of going our own way. The creative people of Edinburgh have taught me, that the words ‘actress’, ‘singer’, ‘art, & ‘stage’ are not everywhere seen as pretentious, far-fetched and unachievable and that the only limitations are in my head. They’ve welcomed and supported me and they appreciate, what I have to give. I feel I belong here. So, obviously, I was a little bit shocked, when I first heard about the ‘arts tax’.

    In the past 3 years I’ve been involved in filming, acting workshops, stage acting, singing, photo shoots and so on and have through all this met the most hard working, enthusiastic, proactive people I have ever come across in my life. Breaking into the Performing Arts Industry is difficult and people who choose this path are usually the ones, who give their all. Most of us don’t just do what we do for our own pleasure alone. I strongly believe in Art as a way to get through to people. It is a way to tell the truth and it is a way to FEEL the truth. Art needs to be able to be spontaneous and free.

    I’ve heard, it’s looking good for us, after this morning’s City Council Meeting and I hope, that common sense will prevail.

    Danielle, you’re one of the inspiring, hard working, committed people I’ve mentioned in this comment. Thank you 🙂

    Jasmin Egner

    Like

    • Thank you very much, Jasmin, for taking the time to write this and show your appreciation and support for Edinburgh and the people you have met here. As an international city, Edinburgh and those of us here, also benefit from you and others like you, with all that you bring, including the focus, insight and delight you personally share with us on your journey.

      Like

    • I absolutely concur and resonate with the points Jasmin Egner has made. I, like Jasmin, originally came to the arts from a science education. Unlike Jasmin, I had certain pre-conceptions, perhaps the prejudices that could be the basis for such a tax coming into being. Who needs the arts when there are so many social problems. Why should arts indulgences be funded and subsidised? I have since come to realise, through filming and working with artists and performers my ignorance about their necessity in a progressive and forward-moving society. Why is it that in some countries, playwrights can be seen as enemies of the state? That art is is not merely taxed but banned outright. As I write, poets, performers and artists sit in prisons and under house arrest across the globe (as a visit to Amnesty International will inform), because they encourage society to think. Art is as necessary in a democracy, as food and water, if there is to be quality of life. Quality of life comes from knowing one has the power to change, contribute, be heard and to hear why things are as they are or how they could be within our communities. I am not a performer, as Jasmin and Danielle, but I am professionally and personally an observer of Edinburgh’s proud arts culture. In a time when there is so much to distract people from wanting and effecting change and improvement, here, nationally and internationally, I am shaking my head in embarrassment at a decision that if not rejected, will disengage communities further. And that is a trend the current community must express in a way that should never be taxed. I look forward to ‘a little april foolery’.

      Like

      • So important, Gillian – as you say – to see the place of and for arts in society. Thank you very much for this, which I will also be highlighting with a blog post. (And apologies for taking so long to do so!)

        Like

  2. […] an acting life in Edinburgh (having come from Germany) has written a wonderful comment on the ‘Crunch time for Edinburgh!’ […]

    Like

  3. […] Gillian’s comment in full – and add your responses too! Share […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

